County Board Creates 2020 Census Commission

Updated: Jul 19, 2019

Over the past few months, the Cook County Board has been hard at work to develop and implement a strategy to guide the County’s work on the 2020 U.S. Census and ensure every resident is counted and the County's residents receive every federal resource they deserve.

The 2020 Census will determine the annual allocation of more than $800 billion in federal investment across states, counties and cities -- the George Washington Institute of Public Policy estimates that more than $34 billion in federal programs in Illinois is tied to the census. In addition to those investments, the Census determines Congressional representation and district boundaries to ensure fair representation at all levels of government.